Home » Initiative: Faculty Development

Faculty Development

Veterinary Education Teaching and Scholarship 

In January 2014, the FDWG identified the goals of the initiative, to design and implement a faculty development program for new-to-teaching faculty.

A needs-assessment survey was sent to faculty at RTA member institutions and a program was then developed to foster a culture of evidence-based best practices in teaching by providing professional development in:

  • Principles of teaching and learning
  • Outcomes and student assessment
  • Approaches to student-teacher interactions

The FDWG set out to develop educational modules that could benefit all faculty, but were designed to benefit early career faculty; these modules could then be used as a part of a full program or as stand-alone sessions (one or more modules) for faculty development. The faculty development program was designed based on the findings of Steinert et al. (2016) who identified key features of effective faculty development programs including, “evidence-informed educational design, relevant content, experiential learning, feedback and reflection, educational projects, intentional community building, longitudinal program design, and institutional support”.

The initial program, called the Veterinary Educator Teaching and Scholarship (VETS) program, was designed to cover a breadth of pedagogical topics using an interactive and experiential approach.

Veterinary Educator Teaching and Scholarship (VETS)

Veterinary medical education relies on faculty members that have varying degrees of training (formal and informal) in student teaching and learning. The goal of the VETS program is to foster a culture of evidence-based best practices in student teaching by providing faculty training.

Upcoming Events

VETS 1.0 Program – July 10-12, 2017 in Fort Collins, CO


Coming soon

Faculty Development Initiative Committee Members:

  • Chair:  Beth Boynton (WesternU)
  • Chair Elect:
  • Steering Committee Liaison: Ohad Levi (WesternU)
  • Ana Alcaraz (WesternU)
  • Bonnie Campbell (WSU)
  • Julie Cary (WSU)
  • Munashe Chigerwe (UCD)
  • Kristy Dowers (CSU)
  • Laurie Fonken (CSU)
  • Samantha Gizerian (WSU)
  • Paul Gordon-Ross (WesternU)
  • Karsten Hueffer (Alaska – CSU)
  • Suzie Kovacs (WesternU)
  • Steve Lampa (WSU)
  • Susan Matthew (WSU)
  • Duncan Russell (OSU)
  • Jane Shaw (CSU)
  • Martin Smith (UCD)
  • Susan Tkalcic (WesternU)
  • Andrew West (CSU)