Home » Membership Directory

Membership Directory

  

University

Interests in Teaching and Learning

Paul AveryPaul Avery, VMD,
PhD, DACVP


Faculty, Pathology
paul.avery@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Teaching and assessing clinical reasoning
  • Self-guided, electronic teaching/assessment tools
  • Team-based learning
Ana AlcarazAna Alcaraz, DVM, PhD
Associate Professor, Anatomic Pathology
aalcaraz@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Active and effective learning
  • Facilitator training in Problem Based Learning
  • Student engagement and well-being
Gillian AnglissGillian Angliss, DVM
Clinical Assistant Professor, Small Animal Medicine
gangliss@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Wellbeing and mental health of veterinary students, faculty, and staff
  • Integration of basic sciences and clinical sciences throughout curriculum
  • Innovation and improvement of pedagogy

Peggy Barr, DVM, PhD
Professor of Virology and Immunology
pbarr@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Evaluating the scholarly activity of PBL case authors
  • Integrating immunology/microbiology content into a PBL curriculum
  • Evaluation of critical thinking skills in pre-clinical veterinary students
Linda Barter Linda Barter, BVSc, MVSc, PhD, DACVAA

Associate Professor of Clinical
Surgical & Radiological Sciences
lsbarter@ucdavis.edu
University of California - Davis
  • Teaching basic science with clinical relevance
  • Simulators/ simulation training
  • Training student assessment (classroom and clinical setting)
Holly Bender Holly Bender, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP

Interim Associate Dean of Academic Programs, Professor
hollybender@arizona.edu
University of Arizona
  • Faculty development using evidence-based active learning strategies such as Team-Based Learning and Peer Instruction
  • Development and educational research on computer tools that enhance student engagement and build expertise such as ThinkSpace and Allele
  • Building faculty learning communities through sharing of Open Educational Resources (OER)
Karen Boudreaux
Karen Boudreaux MEd, MBA, EdD, PhD


Educational Specialist, SVM

kaboudreaux@ucdavis.edu
University of California - Davis
  • Student and Faculty Wellness
  • Personal Preferences for Learning
  • Faculty Action Research
  • Student Educational Leadership Development
Beth Boynton, DVM
Professor, Wellness
bboynton@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Teaching skills for medical communication
  • Best practices for giving feedback in clinical teaching
  • Professional skills development
Barbara Byrne Barbara Byrne, BA, DVM , PhD
Professor of Clinical Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
bbyrne@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • Active learning in the large classroom setting
  • Student and faculty well-being
  • Integrating basic science with clinical/paraclinical teaching
  • Student assessment in large classes
Julie Cary, DVM, MS, DACVS

Clinical Assistant Professor of Equine Surgery and Co-Director of Clinical Communication
jcary@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Teaching and learning clinical skills
  • Developing appropriate work and education culture for success
  • Integration of professional life skills, clinical skills, and knowledge
Patrick Chappell, PhD
Assistant Professor
of Physiology
pat.chappell@oregonstate.edu
Oregon State University
  • Teaching to multiple learning styles
  • Collaborating to develop online educational resources
  • Teaching basic sciences to professional students
Munashe Chigerwe, BVSc, MPH, PhD, DACVIM
Professor of Livestock Medicine and Surgery
mchigerwe@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • Mental health and wellness among veterinary students and house officers
  • Approaches to learning by veterinary students
  • Communication in veterinary medical education
Po-Yet Chou, BVM, MS, DACVS-SA

Assistant Professor of Clinical
Surgical & Radiological Sciences
pchou@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • Promote diversity
  • and inclusiveness in teaching interaction
  • Clinical reasoning and surgical skills education
  • Student and House officer wellness

Julie E Dechant Julie Dechant, DVM, MS, DACVS, DACVEC

Associate Professor of Clinical
Surgical & Radiological Sciences
jedechant@ucdavis.edu
University of California - Davis
  • Effective teaching of clinical problem solving and critical thinking
    earning of clinical skills
  • Optimizing learning of clinical skills
  • Developing skills of self-assessment and reflection
Kristy Dowers, DVM
Associate Professor, Small Animal Medicine
kristy.dowers@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • How to effectively teach clinical reasoning
  • Innovative teaching techniques
  • Low- and high-fidelity simulation
Chrissy Eckstrand Chrissy Eckstrand, DVM, PhD, DACVP

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of VMP
chrissy.eckstrand@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Diversity
  • Equity and inclusion in veterinary medicine
  • Quality vs quantity of content in a DVM curriculum
  • Student Assessment
Maria Fahie Maria Fahie, DVM, MS, DACVS
Professor, Small Animal Surgery
mfahie@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Engaged active learning
  • Online learning
  • Teaching and evaluating clinical competencies
  • Self-assessment and peer observation

Raelynn Farnsworth Raelynn Farnsworth, DVM

Clinical Associate Professor, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Community Practice/Interim Hospital Director
raelynn@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Clinical teaching
  • Assessment, especially using CBVE scales
  • Faculty Development
Laurie Fonken, PhD, LPC
Professional Counselor/Instructor
laurie.fonken@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Continuing education and support for faculty
  • Identification and sharing of resources and ideas to enhance curricular offerings and experiences for the students
  • Collaborative research on professional skills and personal wellness
Briedi Gillespie Briedi Gillespie, PhD

Clinical Associate Professor
b.gillespie@wsu.edu
Washington State University
Samantha Gizerian, PhD

Clinical Assistant Professor & Associate Director for Undergraduate
Studies, WSU Program in Neurosciences
samantha.gizerian@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Active learning methods
  • Faculty development
  • Teaching/evaluating critical thinking and problem solving
Paul Gordon-Ross, DVM, MS
Director of Clinical Relations and Assistant Professor
pgordon@westernu.edu

Western University of Health Sciences
  • Needs assessment for clinical preceptor development
  • Success of training interventions for clinical preceptors
  • Measurement of clinical competencies in veterinary students
Elena Gorman, DVM, MS
Associate Professor
Clinical Pathology
Elena.Gorman@oregonstate.edu

Oregon State University
  • Integration of basic science knowledge and clinical application.
  • Increasing and supporting diversity in veterinary medicine.
  • Multi-modal learning opportunities: flipped classes, polling, digital slide scans, etc.
Sarah Guess Sarah C. Guess, DVM, MS, DACVIM (SAIM)
Clinical Assistant Professor

sarah.guess@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Research and scholarship surrounding graduate and clinic-based learning
  • Gamification and the learning environment
  • Assessment and statistical methods for education
Jillian Haines Jillian Haines, DVM
Associate Professor

jmhaines@wsu.edu

Washington State University
  • Clinical teaching
  • Assessment
  • Integrating classroom and clinical teaching
Kelly Hall Kelly Hall, DVM, MS, DACVECC
Associate Professor, Critical Care Services; Chair, ACVECC VetCOT

KHall.Wilke@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Design and implementation of formative and summative assessments to enhance student engagement
  • Competency-based learning and instruction
  • Team-based learning

Spring Halland, DVM, CVA, DACVIM

Assistant Professor of Large Animal Internal Medicine
shalland@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Teaching and learning clinical skills
  • Bridging the gap/jump between pre-clinical and clinical years of education
  • Diversity and Inclusivity in Veterinary Education
  • Online learning/teaching

Ilana Halperin Ilana Halperin, DVM

Assistant Clinical Professor, Dept of Medicine and Epidemiology
imhalperin@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • Clinical teaching
  • Diversity, equity, and inclusion in veterinary medicine
  • Student engagement and well-being
Diana Hassel, DVM, PhD, DACVS, DACVECC
Associate Professor,
Equine Emergency Surgery & Critical Care
diana.hassel@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Teaching/assessing clinical reasoning and clinical problem solving
  • Active learning methods
  • Peer review of teaching
Dean Hendrickson, DVM, MS, DACVS
Professor Equine Surgery
dean.hendrickson@colostate.edu

Colorado State University
  • Simulation training
  • Clinical training
  • Video based learning
Steve Hines Steve Hines, DVM, PhD, DACVP
Director of the WSU Teaching Academy; Professor of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology
sahines@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Changing institutional paradigms to make teaching a valued and viable career track
  • Active learning methods that result in long term learning
  • Measuring teaching effectiveness beyond student evaluations
Lane JohnsonLane W. Johnson DVM
Staff Veterinarian, Gourley Clinical Teaching Center
lwjohnson@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • Developing optimum learning environments for today’s students, virtually and in person.
  • Use of models and virtual scenarios to teach clinical skills and judgment.
  • Creating learning materials that provide focus towards learning outcomes.
Matthew S. Johnston Matthew S. Johnston, VMD, DABVP - Avian
Associate Professor of Avian, Exotic, and Zoological Medicine
matthew.johnston@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Team-based learning pedagogy
  • Application of comparative medicine to teach foundational principles (critical thinking, clinical reasoning
  • Clinical instruction
  • Metacognition (Reflection) as a means for retention
  • Metacognition as a tool to replace traditional course evaluations

Malika Kachani Malika Kachani, PhD, DVM
Professor of Parasitology and Global Health
mkachani@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Peer Observation and coaching in PBL
  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
  • Facilitator Training
Gagandeep Kaur Gagandeep Kaur, DVM, PhD
Associate Professor
gkaur@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Assessments of learning/assessment tools for students
  • Integration of basic and clinical sciences in teaching
  • Meaningful feedback for course improvement

David Kersey, PhD
Assistant Professor, Physiology
dkersey@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
Joseph Klopfenstein Joseph Klopfenstein,
DVM DABVP

Assistant Professor, Rural Veterinary Practice
joe.klopfenstein@oregonstate.edu
Oregon State University
  • Teaching evidence based decision making
  • Teaching application of knowledge and skill in field situations
  • Personal well-being and work/life balance
Suzie Kovacs, MS
Assistant Professor
of Epidemiology
skovacs@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Diversity in veterinary medicine
  • Teaching and evaluating empathy in veterinary students
  • Developing a curriculum addressing contemporary issues facing the veterinary profession
Racheal Kreisler Rachael Kreisler, VMD, MSCE, DACVPM (Epidemiology)
Associate Professor of Shelter Medicine and Epidemiology
rkreis@midwestern.edu
Midwestern University
  • Scholarship of teaching and learning
  • Measuring teaching effectiveness
  • Student Assessment
Steve Lampa, PhD

Clinical Assistant Professor
slampa@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Active Learning Methods
  • Faculty Development
  • Encouraging Student Metacognition
Mary Lassaline Mary Lassaline,
DVM, PhD


Department of Surgical and Radiological Sciences
lassaline@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
Ohad Levi, DVM

Associate Professor, Surgery
olevi@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
Christiane LohrChristinae Lohr, MedVet, Dr. med. vet., PhD, DACVP
Associate Professor - Anatomic Pathology
christiane.loehr@oregonstate.edu
Oregon State University
  • Hybrid and remote instruction
  • Creation of instructional materials
  • Education Research
Christianne MageeChristianne Magee,
DVM, MS, PhD,
DACT

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences
christianne.magee@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Scholarship of teaching and learning
  • Development of enduring teaching materials
  • Active learning in large lecture courses
Thomas Marino Thomas (Tony) Marino, M.S., Ed.D. Candidate
Instructor of Veterinary Anatomy

tmarino@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Competency-based preclinical anatomy instruction
  • Mixed-methods methodology in educational research
  • Student mental health (specifically around the Stress, Anxiety, and Depression continuum)
Susan Matthew, PhD, BVSc (Hons), BSc(Vet), GradCertEdStud (Higher Ed)

Associate Professor and Associate Chair of Veterinary Medical Education
susan.matthew@wsu.edu
Washington State University
Diane McClure, DVM, PhD, DACLAM

Associate Professor, Laboratory Animal Medicine
dmcclure@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
Bret Roberts McNabb, DVM, MPVM

Assistant Professor of Clinical
Population Health & Reproduction
brmcnabb@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • effective clinical teaching (individual instruction and rounds-based)
  • small-medium effective class instruction
Phil Mixter Phil Mixter, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
of Immunology / STEM undergrad
pmixter@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Active learning methods
  • Peer Review of Teaching – Teaching, Teaching Material, Teaching Evaluation, etc.
  • Development of an open source/online vet teaching journal for the consortium
Stuart Meyer Stuart Meyers, DVM, MS, PhD, DACT
Professor
Anatomy, Physiology & Cell Biology
smeyers@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • Developing novel case-based learning exercises for basic and clinical Theriogenology
  • Developing meaningful peer observation of faculty teaching
Elizabeth Montgomery Elizabeth Montgomery, DVM
Faculty, Small Animal Community Surgery Service
eamontgomery@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
Teresa Morishita Teresa Morishita, DVM,
MPVM, MS, PhD,
DACPV

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor of Poultry Medicine & Food Safety

tmorishita@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Extension and Public Education
  • Faculty/Student Development

Brian Murphy, DVM, PhD, DACVP
Assistant Professor
of Pathology
bmurphy@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • The student-teacher relationship
Tandi Ngwenyama Tandi Ngwenyama, DVM,
Assistant Professor (Clinical)
tandi.ngwenyama@oregonstate.edu
Oregon State University
  • Incorporating social justice pedagogy (critical pedagogy + inclusive pedagogy)
  • Neuropedagogy (brain-targeted teaching)
  • Clinical reasoning and incorporating basic sciences into clinics
  • Social emotional learning
Erika Offerdahl Erika G. Offerdahl, PhD
Associate Professor

erika.offerdahl@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Assessment
  • Active learning in undergraduate STEM contexts
  • Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in STEM
  • Social emotional learning
Christine Olver Christine Olver, DVM, PhD,
DACVP

Professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology

christine.olver@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Differentiated instruction
  • Case-based electronic learning tools
  • Student and faculty wellness
  • Social emotional learning
Duncan Russel Duncan Russell, BVMS (Hons), DACVP
Assistant Professor, Clinical
duncan.russell@oregonstate.edu
Oregon State University
  • Clinical teaching
  • Educational research – role of errors in learning
  • Resident training
Heloisa Rutigliano Heloisa Rutigliano, DVM,
PhD

Assistant Professor
heloisa.rutigliano@usu.edu
Washington State University
  • Course development
  • Faculty development
  • Educational research

Daniel Smeak, DVM, DACVS
Professor
of Small Animal Surgery
dan.smeak@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Web-based interactive surgical training modules
  • Surgical skill instructions
  • Skills Assessment
Martin Smith, MS, EdD

Specialist in Cooperative Extension
mhsmith@ucdavis.edu
University of California - Davis
  • Web-based interactive surgical training modules
  • Surgical skill instructions
  • Skills Assessment
Leslie Sprunger, DVM, PhD

Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Vet
Medicine Education
lsprunger@wsu.edu
Washington State University
  • Constructivist-Based Teaching and Learning
  • Curriculum Development
  • Educator Professional Development
Ericka Suchman, PhD

Professor of Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology
Erica.suchman@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Using technology to augment learning
  • Active learning in large lecture courses
  • Mechanisms for teaching and evaluating critical thinking
Suzana Tkalcic, DVM, PhD

Associate Professor, Pathology
stkalcic@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
Bill Vernau William Vernau, BSc, BVMS, DVS, PhD
Associate Professor
of Clinical pathology
wvernau@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • Curricular revision
  • Use of more active and effective teaching methods such as TBL
  • Peer observation and coaching of teaching
Johanna (Joie) Watson, DVM, PhD, DACVIM (LAIM)

Associate Dean of Professional Education

jlwatson@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
  • Student assessment methods; programmatic assessment design and implementation
  • Competency based veterinary education
  • Teaching with technology; leveraging advances to support and enhance learning
Andrew West Andrew West, PhD

Education Development Manager
andrew.west2@colostate.edu
Colorado State University
  • Supporting colleges in embracing excellence in teaching and learning
  • Faculty professional development in teaching
  • Technology in teaching
William Whitler William Whitler,
DVM


Assistant Professor - Theriogenology
william.whitler@oregonstate.edu
Oregon State University
  • Teaching clinical Theriogenology
  • Models for teaching clinical skills
  • Distance teaching