Home » Membership Directory

Membership Directory

  

University

Interests in Teaching and Learning

Ana Alcaraz, DVM, PhD
Associate Professor, Anatomic Pathology
aalcaraz@westernu.edu
Western University of Health Sciences
    Peggy Barr, DVM, PhD
    Professor of Virology and Immunology
    pbarr@westernu.edu
    Western University of Health Sciences
    • Evaluating the scholarly activity of PBL case authors
    • Integrating immunology/microbiology content into a PBL curriculum</li
    • Evaluation of critical thinking skills in pre-clinical veterinary students
    Linda Barter, BVSc, MVSc, PhD, DACVAA

    Associate Professor of Clinical
    Surgical & Radiological Sciences
    lsbarter@ucdavis.edu
    University of California - Davis
    • Teaching basic science with clinical relevance
    • Simulators/ simulation training
    • Training student assessment (classroom and clinical setting)
    Karyn Bird, DVM, PhD

    Assistant Professor Microanatomy and Quality Manager/Safety Officer
    Karyn.Bird@oregonstate.edu
    Oregon State University
    Beth Boynton, DVM
    Professor, Wellness
    bboynton@westernu.edu
    Western University of Health Sciences
    Barbara Byrne, BA, DVM , PhD
    Professor of Clinical Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
    bbyrne@ucdavis.edu
    University of California, Davis
    Jennifer Buur, DVM, DACVCP
    Assistant Professor
    of Comparative Pharmacokinetics
    jbuur@westernu.edu
    Western University of Health Sciences
    • Validation of assessment items
    • Validation and efficacy of PBL cases
    • External validation of curricular materials
    Bonnie Campbell, DVM, PhD, DACVS
    Clinical Associate Professor of Small Animal Soft Tissue Surgery
    bjgc@vetmed.wsu.edu
    Washington State University
    • Teaching/assessing clinical reasoning and clinical problem solving
    • Active learning methods
    • Simulations
    Julie Cary, DVM, MS, DACVS

    Clinical Assistant Professor of Equine Surgery and Co-Director of Clinical Communication
    jcary@vetmed.wsu.edu
    Washington State University
    • Teaching and learning clinical skills
    • Developing appropriate work and education culture for success
    • Integration of professional life skills, clinical skills, and knowledge
    Patrick Chappell, PhD
    Assistant Professor
    of Physiology
    pat.chappell@oregonstate.edu
    Oregon State University
    • Teaching to multiple learning styles
    • Collaborating to develop online educational resources
    • Teaching basic sciences to professional students
    Betsy Charles, DVM, MA
    Assistant Professor, Radiology & Executive Director,
    Veterinary Leadership Institute
    echarles@westernu.edu
    Western University of Health Sciences
    Munashe Chigerwe, BVSc, MPH, PhD, DACVIM
    Assistant Professor
    of Large Animal Internal
    Medicine
    mchigerwe@ucdavis.edu
    University of California, Davis
    Tod Clapp, PhD

    Assistant Professor in Biomedical
    Sciences
    tod.clapp@colostate.edu
    Colorado State University
    • Teaching/assessing clinical reasoning and clinical problem solving
    • Educational scholarship
    • Integration of clinical application in the basic science courses
    Bill Davis, PhD
    Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education, Associate Professor & Associate Director
    Undergraduate Studies, School of Molecular
    Biosciences
    wbdavis@wsu.edu
    Washington State University
    • Active learning in Large Lecture Courses
    • Student Metacognition
    • Using Programmatic Assessment and Systems Thinking to Drive Curricular Transformation
    Julie Dechant, DVM, MS, DACVS, DACVEC

    Associate Professor of Clinical
    Surgical & Radiological Sciences
    jedechant@ucdavis.edu
    University of California - Davis
    Kristy Dowers, DVM
    Associate Professor, Small Animal Medicine
    kristy.dowers@colostate.edu
    Colorado State University
    Marie Fahie, DVM, MS, DACVS
    Professor, Small Animal Surgery
    mfahie@westernu.edu
    Western University of Health Sciences
    Laurie Fonken, PhD, LPC
    Professional Counselor/Instructor
    laurie.fonken@colostate.edu
    Colorado State University
    • Continuing education and support for faculty
    • Identification and sharing of resources and ideas to enhance curricular offerings and experiences for the students
    • Collaborative research on professional skills and personal wellness
    Samantha Gizerian, PhD

    Clinical Assistant Professor & Associate Director for Undergraduate
    Studies, WSU Program in Neurosciences
    sgizerian@vetmed.wsu.edu
    Washington State University
    • Active learning methods
    • Faculty development
    • Teaching/evaluating critical thinking and problem solving
    Jana Gordon, DVM
    Assistant Professor
    of Small Animal Internal Medicine
    Jana.Gordon@oregonstate.edu

    Oregon State University
    • Development of shared educational resources
    • House officer training
    • Development of clinical skills assessment models
    Paul Gordon-Ross, DVM, MS
    Director of Clinical Relations and Assistant Professor
    pgordon@westernu.edu

    Western University of Health Sciences
    • Needs assessment for clinical preceptor development
    • Success of training interventions for clinical preceptors
    • Measurement of clinical competencies in veterinary students
    Elena Gorman, DVM, MS
    Assistant Professor
    Clinical Pathology
    Elena.Gorman@oregonstate.edu

    Oregon State University
      J. Claudio Gutierrez, DVM, PhD
      Assistant Professor, Anatomy, Physiology of Clinical Anatomy
      jcgutierr@ucdavis.edu
      University of California, Davis
      Gary Haldorson, DVM, PhD
      Assistant Professor
      of Pathologist
      gjh@vetmed.wsu.edu

      Washington State University
      • Peer review of teaching
      • Assessment of teaching innovation
      • Encouragement of active participation in large classroom settings
      Spring Halland, DVM, CVA, DACVIM

      Assistant Professor of Large Animal Internal Medicine
      shalland@westernu.edu
      Western University of Health Sciences
      Diana Hassel, DVM, PhD, DACVS, DACVECC
      Associate Professor,
      Equine Emergency Surgery & Critical Care
      diana.hassel@colostate.edu
      Colorado State University
      • Teaching/assessing clinical reasoning and clinical problem solving
      • Active learning methods
      • Peer review of teaching
      Dean Hendrickson, DVM, MS, DACVS
      Professor Equine Surgery
      dean.hendrickson@colostate.edu

      Colorado State University
      • Simulation training
      • Clinical training
      • Video based learning
      Steve Hines, DVM, PhD, DACVP
      Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning; Professor of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology
      shines@vetmed.wsu.edu
      Washington State University
      • Changing institutional paradigms to make teaching a valued and viable career track
      • Active learning methods that result in long term learning
      • Measuring teaching effectiveness beyond student evaluations
      Jan Ilkiw, BVSc, PhD, DEVAA
      Associate Dean
      of Academic Programs; Professor in Dept of Surgical and Radiological Sciences
      jeilkiw@ucdavis.edu

      University of California, Davis
      Suzie Kovacs, MS
      Assistant Professor
      of Epidemiology
      skovacs@westernu.edu
      Western University of Health Sciences
      • Diversity in veterinary medicine
      • Teaching and evaluating empathy in veterinary students
      • Developing a curriculum addressing contemporary issues facing the veterinary profession
      Suzanne Kurtz, PhD
      Director of Clinical Communication and Clinical Professor
      smkurtz@vetmed.wsu.edu
      Washington State University
      • Clinical communication teaching, learning, and assessment
      • Integrated clinical skills teaching, learning, and assessment
      • Active learning methods
      Steve Lampa, PhD

      Clinical Assistant Professor
      lampa@vetmed.wsu.edu
      Washington State University
      Pamela Lee, DVM, MS, DACVIM (cardiology)

      Assistant Professor
      pamelamlee@vetmed.wsu.edu
      Washington State University
      • Teaching/assessing clinical reasoning and clinical problem solving
      • Teaching/encouraging students how to develop strong life-long learning habits
      • Assessment of teaching in clinical settings
      Ohad Levi, DVM

      Associate Professor, Surgery
      olevi@westernu.edu
      Western University of Health Sciences
      Christinae Lohr, MedVet, Dr. med. vet., PhD, DACVP
      Associate Professor - Anatomic Pathology
      christiane.loehr@oregonstate.edu
      Oregon State University
      Linda Martin, DVM, MS, DACVECC

      Critical Care Associate Professor
      lgmartin@vetmed.wsu.edu
      Washington State University
      • Teaching/assessing clinical reasoning and clinical problem solving
      • Simulations
      • Assessment of teaching in clinical settings
      Diane McClure, DVM, PhD, DACLAM

      Associate Professor, Laboratory Animal Medicine
      dmcclure@westernu.edu
      Western University of Health Sciences
      Stuart Meyers, DVM, PhD, DABVT
      Professor
      of Reproduction
      smeyers@ucdavis.edu
      University of California, Davis
      • Curriculum reform. Self-directed adult learning
      Phil Mixter Phil Mixter, PhD
      Clinical Associate Professor
      of Immunology / STEM undergrad
      pmixter@vetmed.wsu.edu
      Washington State University
      • Active learning methods
      • Peer Review of Teaching – Teaching, Teaching Material, Teaching Evaluation, etc.
      • Development of an open source/online vet teaching journal for the consortium
      Brian Murphy, DVM, PhD, DACVP
      Assistant Professor
      of Pathology
      bmurphy@ucdavis.edu
      University of California, Davis
      • The student-teacher relationship
      Brigit Puschner, DVM, PhD, DABVT
      Professor of Veterinary Toxicology
      bpuschner@ucdavis.edu
      University of California, Davis
      • Group learning
      • Mentoring
      Jane Shaw, DVM, PhD
      Associate Professor of Veterinary Communication
      Jane.Shaw@colostate.edu
      Colorado State University
      • Veterinary/medical communication
      • Experiential learning
      • Outcomes assessment

      Daniel Smeak, DVM, DACVS
      Professor
      of Small Animal Surgery
      dan.smeak@colostate.edu
      Colorado State University
      • Web-based interactive surgical training modules
      • Surgical skill instructions
      • Skills Assessment
      Martin Smith, MS, EdD

      Associate Cooperative Extension Specialist
      mhsmith@ucdavis.edu
      University of California - Davis
      Leslie Sprunger, DVM, PhD

      Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Vet
      Medicine Education
      lsprunger@vetmed.wsu.edu
      Washington State University
      • Active learning methods – development and assessment
      • Faculty development (in instructional methods)
      • Course and/or curriculum planning, review, and integration
      Ericka Suchman, PhD

      Professor of Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology
      Erica.suchman@colostate.edu
      Colorado State University
      • Using technology to augment learning
      • Active learning in large lecture courses
      • Mechanisms for teaching and evaluating critical thinking
      John Tegzes, MA, VMD, DABVT
      Professor
      of Toxicology; Director, Interprofessional Education Program
      jtegzes@westernu.edu
      Western University of Health Sciences
      • Development of PBL, CBL, and TBL teaching materials and tools
      • Interprofessional education curriculum development
      • Faculty development of small group facilitation skills
      Suzana Tkalcic, DVM, PhD

      Associate Professor, Pathology
      stkalcic@westernu.edu
      Western University of Health Sciences
      William Vernau, BSc, BVMS, DVS, PhD
      Associate Professor
      of Clinical pathology
      wvernau@ucdavis.edu
      University of California, Davis
      • Curricular revision and the use of more contemporary, effective teaching methods such as TBL.
      Johanna (Joie) Watson, DVM, PhD, DACVIM (LAIM)

      Chair of the Department of Medicine and
      Epidemiology; Associate Professor
      of  Infectious Disease and Immunology

      jlwatson@ucdavis.edu
      University of California, Davis
      Andrew West, PhD

      Education Development Manager
      andrew.west2@colostate.edu
      Colorado State University
      • Supporting colleges in embracing excellence in teaching and learning
      • Faculty professional development in teaching
      • Technology in teaching